2021 Youth Media Awards

On January 25, the American Library Association announced the 2021 Youth Media Awards. As the ALA website explains:

Each year the American Library Association (ALA) honors books, videos, and other outstanding materials for children and teens. Recognized worldwide for the high quality they represent, the ALA Youth Media Awards, including the prestigious Newbery, Caldecott, Printz, and Coretta Scott King Book Awards, guide parents, educators, librarians, and others in selecting the best materials for youth. Selected by committees composed of librarians and other literature and media experts, the awards encourage original and creative work in the field of children’s and young adult literature and media.

Among the awards, two of the most notable include the Caldecott and Newbery Awards. The Caldecott Medal is awarded to “the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children,” while the Newbery Award is given to “the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.” Caldecott and Newbery honors are given out each year as well.

2021 Caldecott winner: We Are Water Protectors, illustrated by Michaela Goade

Request the book or ebook

2021 Newbery winner: When You Trap a Tiger by Tae Keller

Request the book, ebookor digital audiobook

Click here to view the full list of 2021 winners, and start reading!

Visit the ALA website to view lists of previous Caldecott winners and previous Newbery winners.


Make a donation to the BFL Board of Trustees' Annual Fund